Great Conference, Great Commission, Great Stories

Posted: May 22, 2013 by thoughtsfrommyshelf in Mission
Tags: , , , ,

This April, I was able to attend The Gospel Coalitions national conference. There were a lot of people I was looking forward to listening to, and many I did not know but had heard a lot about. The talks I was looking forward to didn’t upset. The speakers I didn’t know blew me away. I was able to build with the guys I went with. I was able to hear one of them begin his journey to South Asia and is currently in country. This was a highlight for me this year.

This conference was a refreshing, convicting, encouraging, and theologically rich. The books were discounted (always a good time to buy) and the schedule was stacked. I am glad that they now have audio available. There were so many workshops, talks, and panels I wish I could have been in. This is one of the many times I wish I had more than one body, or the ability to have my mind in two place at once.

The pre-conference was on global missions, the conference was about following Jesus on mission in the Gospel of Luke, and the post-conference was on work and vocation. I hope you are encouraged by it.

Here were some of the most personally encouraging ones:

The heart of God in the call to proclaim: Our goal to please him, by John Piper

Why the Great Commission is Great: Reaching more and more people, by David Platt

Being an Ambassador for Christ: Ministry of Reconciliation,by Mack Stiles

Contextualization and the Gospel delivered to all of God’s People, by Zane Pratt

How to create a Sending Culture in your Church, by J.D Greear

Leave a Reply

