What does it mean to follow Jesus?

Posted: May 14, 2013 by thoughtsfrommyshelf in Theology, Thoughts, Writing
Tags: , , ,

David Platt recently wrote a book titled Follow Me where he expands on what it means to be a disciple of Jesus. Platt being committed to the Bible, looks at every instance in which Jesus calls someone to follow Him as a disciple and draws implications for us today. I began to rethink of what I committed to when I became a follower of Jesus and thought I would read his book and study those passages myself. I hope to be able to not only share what I have found, but also encourage you to count the cost of what it means to follow Jesus and to live in light of His call.

As I read these passages and put myself in the feet of all those who hear Jesus say, “Follow me”, I began to feel a lot like Bilbo Baggins did when he received a contract from Ballin, a dwarf who is part of Thorin Oakenshield’s company. Thorin Oakenshield is on a journey to take back a mountain that was once his grandfathers. The journey is dangerous and it comes with great risk. We are all being handed a contract. We don’t get to set the terms either. Jesus sets the conditions of what it means to be His follower.

At times when we think of being a follower of Jesus some of us think of changing who we are. Others think of how we can become better people. Some of us even think of doing things for Jesus in our spare time and giving whatever money we can to help the poor. Through this series I hope and pray that we get a more robust understanding of what Jesus means when he says, “follow me”. I believe that we, as Christians, can be sucked into and have given ourselves to a culture that feels the freedom to take Jesus on our own terms rather than taking Jesus on his terms. We live in a consumeristic culture that makes us believe that if we don’t like something we can simply move on to something else that we would much prefer or feel more comfortable with. With Jesus we don’t have that freedom. He sets the terms and he tells us what it means to be his follower. When Jesus says follow me, He gives us a contract and the terms of agreement are drafted up by him and not by us.

I pray that many would carefully consider what it means to follow Jesus. I also pray that God uses this series of posts to create risk taking Christians that will move towards area’s that have little to no access of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Comments
  1. […] exhaustive, but I hope you were encouraged by it. If you would like to review that you can see the intro, part 1, part 2, and part 3 before […]

Leave a Reply

