Asking others for their recommendations

Posted: February 6, 2013 by thoughtsfrommyshelf in Book Recommendation, Reading

It has been a long time since I last blogged. I started strong and then slowed down. Well, it was more like a month long vacation. I hope to write more consistently this year…its a resolution in the making.

I love my job!! I love the people I work with. I love the people I interact with daily. I have the privilege of working for a campus ministry at the University of Maryland. When students are in school I have the privilege of being with students, living everyday life with gospel intentionality. During the breaks, I have a short period for raising support, resting, refreshment, and reading. I love what I do and I love the being able to take times away and reflect on how I could be better.

One of the area’s that I have wanted to grow in would be in the area of leadership. I want to grow in casting and communicating mission and vision. One of the things that I have learned over the years is that I love reading and will be excited to read when there are problems or ways things can be improved. Since I am not as well read on books on leadership, I asked friends what their recommendations would be. These were people who I respect, follow, or would follow. They did not fail in their recommendations. After a couple of emails I got audio, articles, and books with specific reasons for why I should read them.

One way to fill your library with books that you will come to time and time again is to ask readers you respect to share with you titles that would be beneficial.

Are there any specific books on leadership you would recommend? Please comment

Comments
  1. philmartin4 says:

    Five dysfunctions of a team by Patrick lencioni

  2. Philip Davis says:

    Its not really about leadership, but i would love to hear your thoughts on the book “4 hour workweek” by Tim ferriss

  3. Thanks for the recommendations fellaz. I will look into them…

Leave a Reply

